PDA

View Full Version : Help for beginner!

sam400
27-09-2011, 23:08
hi there! I am new to carp fishing I have been 4 times so far with mates and got really into it. I ve had a lot of help so far on each trip and it is gradually sinking in, the trouble is mates are not fishing anymore this year as their hunting season has started! So I have decided to get out and do a bit on my own, however there is more than a few things i am not sure about. I am going to ask a few questions on here and see how i get on.

What are the essential rigs that i need to have with me to cover most situations?
I have only used hair rigs so far. I quite enjoyed making them, so dont mind making anything up.

What is the best bait for beginners to use?
I was thinking boilies but i havent had any luck with them yet. The fish I have caught so far were off the surface with dog biscuits and off the bottom with a ball of maggots. I only have a basic 2 rod set up, no spod rod or bait boat.

Do I need a marker float as part of my kit?
I have been going in swims without any thought to were the fish are so far I realise this is wrong i am going to have a proper look next time but do i need to feature find and concentrate my bait in one area as well to increase my chances.

Thanks in advance!

Bowza
27-09-2011, 23:22
Hi

Sam location location location, if the fish are not there no bait will help you.

u asking the right questions, u dont need loads of kit , simple and basic will catch fish, the trick is finding them,

question for you to help you improve, do you fish the same lake or move around to many venues, if you can stick to one lake , learn the lake that way u will learn the basic principles of fish behaviour, signs to look for, water features, this can them be applied to other waters,